Ortiz promises to be the first to defeat Mayweather

Contrary to his aggressive and confrontational, Floyd Mayweather Jr. behaved very respectful of his next opponent, world champion welterweight World Boxing Council Victor Ortiz. After an absence of 16 months Mayweather-Ortiz will face each other at the MGM Grand in Las Vegas, Nevada, on 17 September. In what was his first promotional stop – carried out at the Hudson Theatre in New York – “Vicious” Ortiz was blunt with his goal: “I’ll be the first fighter to pass the test of Floyd Mayweather.”

Before hundreds of fans Ortiz, 24-year-old said:

“Now was my chance to show what I have always said. I’ll be the first to defeat him and for me is a blessing that the suit was on a date such as the Mexican independence.

I worked very hard to be world champion and to prove I’m the best. I will not let anyone take that away. I hope that I will leave here with my belt and with a new title: “The first beat Mayweather.”

But if I had not heard the threats, Mayweather stayed calm and acknowledged that the match against Ortiz was a challenge:

“Ortiz is young, fast and very strong champion. Will not be easy. But I will prepare with the same dedication that I always had to harvest fights and show that I’m the best fighter in the world now,” said the undefeated six-time champion in five different divisions. Are you all excited to watch Mayweather vs Ortiz fight? So am I!

This entry was posted in Boxing, Sports Event and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.